underwear © Fanny de Chaillé

Underwear

A choreographic play for 8 male interpreters by Fanny de Chaillé
With Jérôme Andrieu, Gaëtan Bulourde, Boris Charmatz, Matthieu Doze, Christophe Ives, Rachid Ouramdane, Maxime Rigobert, Christian Rizzo
Lights Caty Olive

Underwear was created in June 2003 in the context of the festival Les Inaccoutumés 15 at la Ménagerie de Verre.

Production Association Display


The parade or show of any kind (military, fashion, demonstration), generates a spectacular form. As an orchestrator of bodies, it is a mode of presentation, of performance involving a succession of people moving in a line.

The choreographic project Underwear aims to take back and work on this spectacular form that is the parade, especially the fashion show, to bring up the issues of cross-representation and exposure of the body.
It incorporates the attributes of a true fashion show – setting (podium, public face to face), lighting, music (with a live DJ-set) – but also examines the relationship and works on the relation between body and clothing.

The project Underwear adopts a critical position towards what is at stake in the parade. Unlike the fashion show, clothing is no longer the subject here. By appropriating itself the form of the parade, and through the use of generic clothing (jeans, t-shirt), Underwear examines the presence of the body in its multiplicity. The body of the standard model is replaced by that of the male choreographer/ performer.

Through this proposition, Underwear asserts the multiplicity of bodies and allows every individual to affirm the unity of action through his/her history of the movement – his/her dance – and thus his/ her singularity. What is at stake in Underwear is the affirmation of the body as being the subject.

© Fanny de Chaillé

Underwear

Une pièce chorégraphique pour 8 interprètes masculins de Fanny de Chaillé
Avec Jérôme Andrieu, Gaëtan Bulourde, Boris Charmatz, Matthieu Doze, Christophe Ives, Rachid Ouramdane, Maxime Rigobert, Christian Rizzo
Lumières Caty Olive

Underwear a été créé en juin 2003 dans le cadre du festival Les Inaccoutumés 15 à la Ménagerie de Verre.

Production Association Display


Le défilé, de quelque nature qu’il soit (militaire, de mode, de manifestants…), engendre une forme spectaculaire. En tant qu’orchestration des corps, il est un mode de présentation, de représentation impliquant une succession de personnes en mouvement disposées en file.

Le projet chorégraphique Underwear souhaite se réapproprier et travailler cette forme spectaculaire qu’est le défilé, et plus particulièrement le défilé de mode, pour faire apparaître les enjeux croisés de la représentation et de l’exposition du corps.

Il reprend les attributs du défilé de mode – mise en scène (podium, public en face à face), éclairage, musique (présence d’un DJ en live) – mais surtout interroge et travaille la relation corps/vêtement.

Le projet Underwear adopte une position critique à l’égard de ce qui est en jeu dans le défilé. A l’inverse du défilé de mode, le vêtement n’est plus ici sujet. En s’appropriant la forme du défilé, Underwear propose à travers l’utilisation d’un vêtement générique (jeans, tee shirt) d’interroger la présence du corps dans sa multiplicité. Le corps normalisé du mannequin est remplacé par celui du chorégraphe interprète masculin.

Ce faisant, Underwear affirme la multiplicité des corps mais surtout permet à chacun au travers de son histoire du mouvement – de sa danse – d’affirmer l’unicité du geste et par là même sa singularité. Ce qui se joue dans Underwear (ou “sous-vêtement”), c’est l’affirmation du corps comme sujet.